Johannesburg – It was all glitz and glam as Africa’s top music stars were honoured at the 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards in Johannesburg on Saturday night.

Wizkid Wins Big At MAMA 2016
Wizkid Wins Big At MAMA 2016

The awards ceremony was held at the Ticketpro Dome. Bonang Matheba shared hosting duties with Nomzamo Mbatha and Nigerian singer Yemi Alade.

Among the performers were American rapper Future and local and African stars Yemi Alade, Babes Wodumo, Nasty C, Cassper Nyovest, Wizkid and Maphorisa.

Here’s the full list of all the winners:

Artist of the Year: Wizkid (Nigeria) against Yemi Alade, Diamond Platnumz, Black Coffee and Sauti Sol., he also won the

Best Male: Wizkid (Nigeria) edging out AKA, Black Coffee, Diamond Platnumz and Patoranking.

Best Collaboration in partnership with ABSOLUT: DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid & DJ Buckz – “Soweto Baby” (South Africa/Nigeria)  

This makes Wizkid the Awardee of the year as he picked up 3 awards from these categories.

Best Female: Yemi Alade (Nigeria) who rocked this awards twice in a row kicking off Nigerian Tiwa Savage, Ghana’s Mz Vee, Tanzania’s Vanessa Mdee and Josey of Ivory Coast. This makes her the first artist to win the award for Best Female twice (2015 and 2016).

Best Group: Sauti Sol (Kenya) beating out Mi Casa (South Africa), Navy Kenzo (Tanzania), R2bees (Ghana) and Toofan (Togo).

Best Breakthrough Act: Tekno (Nigeria) beats Falz, Simi, Nasty C others to this award.


Best Live Act:  Cassper Nyovest (South Africa) after he slugged with others such as Eddy Kenzo (Uganda), Flavour (Nigeria), Mafikizolo (South Africa) and Stonebwoy (Ghana

Best Hip Hop in association with MTN: Emtee (South Africa) 

Song of the Year in partnership with Google: “My Woman, My Everything” Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria)

Listener’s Choice: Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)

Video of the Year:  “Niquer Ma Vie” – Youssoupha (Congo) – Director: Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon

Best Pop & Alternative: Shekinah & Kyle Deutsch (South Africa)

Best Francophone: Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)

Best Lusophone: C4 Pedro (Angola)

Personality of the Year in association with DSTV:  Caster Semenya (South Africa)

Legend Award: Hugh Masekela 

Africa Reimagined: Vivian Onano and Mary Taedzerwa

Best International: Drake (USA) beating Adele, Beyoncé, Future and Rihanna.